Melodic Treks: A Star Trek Music Podcast (AMA)
45: Any Questions?

A Musical AMA.

Host Brandon-Shea Mutala loves music in all forms. The sounds of Star Trek are great, but this love was making him antsy. He wanted to play different kinds of music on Melodic Treks.

Inspired by Reddit's popular "Ask Me Anything," Brandon-Shea opened the floodgates on Twitter, Facebook, and in The Babel Conference. He hoped listeners would ask him to play some other music. They responded admirably.

In this episode of Melodic Treks, we take a more intimate look at the man behind the mic. So listen on and discover Brandon-Shea's favorite composer, his favorite summer tunes, the music that changed his life, his five favorite scores, his happy song, and his three favorite albums of all time. He also talks about his faith journey, his favorite character in each Star Trek series, and who he thinks was the best Batman!

Anton Yelchin (00:00:00)
"I Gotta Beam Me" (from Star Trek, composed by M. Giacchino) (00:00:47)
"Main Title" (from Sisters, composed by B. Herrmann) (00:06:06)
"Main Title" (from Vertigo, composed by B. Herrmann) (00:06:57)
"The Enterprise" (from Star Trek: The Motion Picture, composed by J. Goldsmith) (00:08:50)
"007 (Shanty Town)" (from The Harder They Come, composed by D. Dekker) (00:11:22)
"The Son of Flynn" (from Tron: Legacy, composed and performed by Daft Punk) (00:13:12)
"The Last Man" (from The Fountain, composed by C. Mansell, and performed by Kronos Quartet and Mogwai) (00:15:09)
"D1T1 (Cliffs)" (from Selected Ambient Works Vol. 2 by Aphex Twin) (00:24:28)
"Part 1" (from Rubycon by Tangerine Dream) (00:26:25)
"Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes" (from Graceland by P. Simon) (00:28:38)
"A Clearing" (Ambient 4: On Land by B. Eno) (00:31:14)
"Moxica and the Horse" (from 1492 Conquest of Paradise, composed by Vangelis) (00:37:30)
"An Itch" (from The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, composed by T. Reznor and A. Ross) (00:40:05)
"The Feeling Begins" (from The Last Temptation of Christ, composed and performed by P. Gabriel) (00:42:07)
"Main Title" (from Planet of the Apes, composed by J. Goldsmith) (00:44:44)
"Main Title" (from The Hunt for Red October, composed by B. Poledouris) (00:46:21)
"Paradise Circus" (from Heligoland by Massive Attack) (00:49:19)
"A Walk" (from Dive by Tycho) (00:51:21)
"White Cyclosa" (from Tomorrow's Harvest by Boards of Canada) (00:54:12)
"Nothing Is Real" (from Tomorrow's Harvest by Boards of Canada) (00:55:40)

Brandon-Shea Mutala

Brandon-Shea Mutala (Editor and Producer) C Bryan Jones (Executive Producer) Matthew Rushing (Executive Producer) Norman C. Lao (Executive Producer) Charlynn Schmiedt (Executive Producer) Bobby Tucker (Associate Producer) Richard Marquez (Production Manager) Will Nguyen (Content Manager)

Direct download: mt-045.mp3
Category:AMA -- posted at: 5:30am MST