Melodic Treks: A Star Trek Music Podcast

La La Land Record's 50th Anniversary Collection.

After fifty years, there have been many releases of Star Trek music from all across the franchise. La La Land Records had to create something very special in order to celebrate the monumental milestone for Star Trek, and they delivered it with their four disc set last December. Each disc is filled with rare music from all of the series including synth demo mock ups for main titles, bumpers, and new transfers of music from newly found first generation masters. Also inclusded on the set is an amazing disc of music from the animated series that many fans thought we would never get.

In this episode of Melodic Treks, host Brandon-Shea Mutala is joined by Neil S. Bulk, Associate Producer for La La Land Record's Star Trek 50th Anniversary Collection to discuss how new masters of the music were discovered, fixing previous errors, responding to fan criticism, and creating a music selection from stems.

Opening (00:00:00) 
News (00:01:16) 
Charles-Henri Avelange's Star Trek Track (00:02:40) 
"Act 1 Card" (from "Where No Man Has Gone Before" composed by A. Courage) (00:07:16) 
Welcome, Neil! (00:07:52) 
Scraping the Barrel (00:09:18) 
Where Were the Tapes Found? (00:11:20) 
Disc One (00:11:43) 
"Captain Playoff No. 2 (New Set)" (composed by A. Courage) (00:15:35) 
"Captain Playoff No. 2 (15 CD Set)" (composed by A. Courage) (00:15:45) 
"Bumpers" (composed by W. Hatch) (00:17:17) 
"Ship in Orbit (New Set)" (composed by A. Courage) (00:18:30) 
"Ship in Orbit (15 CD Set)" (composed by A. Courage) (00:19:10) 
Stems From the Animated Series (00:19:47) 
"Sensor Data" (composed by Y. Blais and J. Michael) (00:27:43) 
"Trouble in Engineering" (composed by Y. Blais and J. Michael) (00:28:46) 
"Spock's Analysis" (composed by Y. Blais and J. Michael) (00:29:13) 
The Rest of the Set (00:29:52) 
"Main Title Demo (from Star Trek: Deep Space Nine)" (composed by D. McCarthy) (00:30:32) 
"Main Title Demo (from Star Trek: Voyager)" (composed by J. Goldsmith) (00:31:35) 
"Communique (C)" (composed by D. Reilly) (00:38:24) 
Finding Neil and Current Projects (00:39:22) 

Brandon-Shea Mutala

Neil S. Bulk

Brandon-Shea Mutala (Editor and Producer) C Bryan Jones (Executive Producer) Matthew Rushing (Executive Producer) Ken Tripp (Executive Producer) Norman C. Lao (Associate Producer) Tony Robinson (Associate Producer) Richard Marquez (Production Manager) Tony Robinson (Show Art) Brandon-Shea Mutala (Patreon Manager)

Direct download: mt-073.mp3
Category:Interviews -- posted at: 1:00am MDT