Melodic Treks: A Star Trek Music Podcast
55: Space Opera 1991

Star Trek VI and Cliff Eidelman.

One of the youngest composers to score a feature film, Cliff Eidelman was only 22 when he wrote for Magdalene. Since then, he has amassed an impressive body of work—from film to concert hall. He has written a number of scores including Triumph of the Spirit (1989), Christopher Columbus: The Discovery (1992), Crazy People (1990), Untamed Heart (1992), Leap of Faith (1992), Now and Then (1995), If These Walls Could Talk (1996), Witness Protection (1999), An American Rhapsody (2001), Ocean Men: Extreme Dive (2001), The Sisterhood Of The Traveling Pants (2005), Open Window (2006), and Big Miracle (2012), which was Eidelman’s fifth collaboration with director Ken Kwapis.

In this episode of Melodic Treks, host Brandon-Shea Mutala is joined by Matthew Rushing of The Orb, The 602 Club, and Literary Treks to reflect upon Eidelman's career, from his composing credits to his solo album. We also take a look at some of his work conducting scores by other composers, and conclude with the soundtrack for Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country, in recognition of the 25th anniversary of the film.

Intro (00:00:00)
Eidelman's Bio (00:08:42)
"Discovery at Sea" (Christopher Columbus: The Discovery) (00:16:46)
"Lost" (Untamed Heart) (00:26:35)
"Prologue" (Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants) (00:33:54)
"Bam Bam is Gone/A Prayer" (Big Miracle) (00:40:04)
My Muse (00:44:36)
"Watching for the Willows" (My Muse) (00:45:27)
"Hey Little Baby Girl" (My Muse) (00:47:01)
"Adagio" (Alien 3 E. Goldenthol) (00:52:25)
"Adagio" (Alien 3 E. Goldenthol; conducted by C. Eidelman) (00:54:07)
"The Emperor Arrives" (Star Wars: Return of the Jedi J. Williams) (01:00:46)
"Introduction" (The Firebird Suite I. Stravinsky) (01:07:15)
"Neptune, The Mystic" (The Planets G. Holst) (01:08:48)
"Spacedock/Clear All Moorings" (Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country) (01:11:48)
"Spock's Wisdom" (Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country) (01:15:44)
"The Death of Gorkon" (Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country) (01:19:23)
"The Trial/Morally Unjust Evidence" (Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country) (01:24:08)
"Escape from Rura Penthe" (Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country) (01:28:19)
"Mind Meld" (Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country) (01:33:01)
"The Battle for Peace" (Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country) (01:38:09)

* All music composed by C. Eidelman unless otherwise noted

Brandon-Shea Mutala

Matthew Rushing

Brandon-Shea Mutala (Editor and Producer) C Bryan Jones (Executive Producer) Matthew Rushing (Executive Producer) Ken Tripp (Executive Producer) Charlynn Schmiedt (Executive Producer) Norman C. Lao (Associate Producer) Bobby Tucker (Associate Producer) Richard Marquez (Production Manager)

Direct download: mt-055.mp3
Category:Composers -- posted at: 6:38am MDT