Melodic Treks: A Star Trek Music Podcast
46: There are 14 Discs!

Lukas Kendell Interview.

To the general public in 1990, the word “soundtrack” meant only a compilation of popular songs from movies such as Top Gun and Footloose. So, to help expand knowledge of and appreciation for the fine art of composing for film, Lukas Kendell created Film Score Monthly. FSM began as a one-page newsletter sent to 11 people. Since then, it has grown into a magazine, a record label, a website, and the home of other publishing endeavors.

In addition to releasing the complete scores for Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan and Star Trek III: The Search for Spock, FSM has also produced a massive fourteen-disc box set that includes almost every note composed by Ron Jones for Star Trek: The Next Generation, as well as music from the PC games Starfleet Academy and Starfleet Command.

In this episode of Melodic Treks, host Brandon-Shea Mutala is joined by Kendell to discuss the early days of his magazine, the challenges of CD production, and The Ron Jones Project. We also talk about some holy grail releases that Kendell helped produce such as those for White Dog, The Wrong Man, Beneath the Planet of the Apes, and the eight-disc Superman box set.

News (00:02:08)  
Hollywood in Vienna: The World of James Horner (00:02:22)  
Jerry Goldsmith’s Star on the Hollywood Walk Of Fame (00:03:54)  
“Sledgehammer” (00:05:27)  
Family Guy Soundtrack (00:08:41)  
“System Failure” (From Star Trek: The Next Generation “Evolution,” composed by R. Jones) (00:10:02)  
Meeting Lukas (00:10:50)  
FSM’s Beginnings (00:12:32)  
Elliot Goldenthal (00:14:13)  
The Most Challenging Releases (00:18:00)  
White Dog (00:21:42)  
Beneath the Planet of the Apes (00:23:22)  
The Wrong Man (00:24:47)  
The Wrath of Khan and The Search for Spock (00:28:25)  
The Ron Jones Project (00:34:42)  
Star Trek 2017 (00:47:35)  
“Terrorist Attack” (From Star Trek: The Next Generation “The High Ground,” composed by R. Jones) (00:49:46)

Brandon-Shea Mutala

Lukas Kendell

Brandon-Shea Mutala (Editor and Producer) C Bryan Jones (Executive Producer) Matthew Rushing (Executive Producer) Norman C. Lao (Executive Producer) Charlynn Schmiedt (Executive Producer) Bobby Tucker (Associate Producer) Richard Marquez (Production Manager) Will Nguyen (Content Manager)

Direct download: mt-046.mp3
Category:Interviews -- posted at: 6:21am MDT